Good Dirt

It’s almost springtime & we are gearing up for our spring garden. I reminisced the other day as Robby was on the tractor tilling up the garden. The dirt is so black, rich with good nutrients. Just 10 years ago when we began our journey into organic gardening that same plot of ground was sand. It was a muddy tan color that would just sift through your fingers. Not today. It clumps up easily. Good fertile soul.

It didn’t get that way all by itself. We spent many hours picking up bags of leaves people would sit on the side of the road. We’d fill our trailer full a couple times a year only to unload it in the garden to be tilled under. That old tractor God blessed us with sure makes the tilling easier. A few years ago God provided fee horse poo as fertilizer. All this time we’ve also shoveled chicken poo for the garden. It has been a lot of hard work but well worth the effort.

Our garden had a rest this past year as Robby and I have been recovering from our brain surgeries. It is now time to put that good soil to work germinating and nourishing produce. So far Robby and the boys have planted broccoli, spinach, potatoes, kale, carrots, turnips, and sweet peas. I’m sure there are more plants or seeds out there, but I never remember what he plants. I wait till they grow then I can tell what is out there. We also have a nice strawberry patch that we planted last year.

I enjoy looking out in the garden as Robby teaches the boys to tend the garden. They will grow up being competent farmers one day. My job is to weed the garden. Then pick, can and freeze fresh produce. I’ve learned to delegate and teach the art of picking to the older ones. Mostly the children eat as they pick so if I am not out there supervising, they bring very little in for me to put up. I like to think they get their year’s supply of veggies in the spring and summer. Their favorite is sweet peas. I plan to make Christi learn the art of canning and freezing this year. Unfortunately, I have to make Christi help me. She’d rather climb a tree or read a book. I’ve taught them the difference between a weed and a plant, but I need to come up with some sort of motivation. When I send them out to weed the garden they just play in the dirt.

Some of you are probably wandering if Robby and I are healed enough to do all this hard work. We both continue to endure some pain and must take occasional breaks to rest our necks, but we are missing the fresh food we’ve come to enjoy. Being able to go to the garden to “shop” for dinner ingredients is well worth the effort. Paul had a thorn in his flesh he had to live with. We don’t know what it was. However, we do know Paul pleaded with God to take it away but God told him,

“My grace is sufficient for you, for My strength is made perfect in weakness.” 2 Cor 12:9

Robby and I choose to be like Paul focusing on the power of Christ that rests in us rather than dwell on the pain and weakness. We know the physical struggles only make us stronger in Christ.

Published by:

The Young Theologian

I am 17 and I love theology, writing, and apologetics. I learn a lot from my dad who is pastor, but I also learn a lot from God's Word. I am a musician and singer who praises God constantly. I love to get Godly advice and give Godly advice. I also use my God-given talent for writing to encourage others, believers or not.

Categories Road to Better HealthLeave a comment

Leave a Reply

