Great and Mighty Things

“Then the word of the LORD came to Jeremiah the second time, while he was still confined in the court of the guard, saying, “Thus says the LORD who made the earth, the LORD who formed it to establish it, the LORD is His name, ‘Call to Me and I will answer you, and I will tell you great and mighty things, which you do not know.’” Jeremiah 33:1-3

God gave Jeremiah this promise when life was not going very well for him–he was in prison. Think about prison life.  A prisoner can’t go anywhere. He is limited to whom he speaks to. His food is rationed. He has very little if any money. His prison cell is most likely uncomfortable, dirty, and smelly. This can be a very depressing time in life.

When life feels overwhelming we can look to this promise for hope. The Lord reminds us that He made the earth. That means He can do anything. He says if we will call on Him, He will tell us things we didn’t know.  As I read this verse, God reminded me that the great and mighty things he will tell us about aren’t just super spiritual truths about life, but everyday simple things.

I went to Lowes the other day to pick up some plumbing fixtures for Robby. I didn’t see the piece Robby wanted so I asked for assistance. I’m not sure the clerk knew much more about plumbing than I did. He was just looking at all the boxes. I had already done that. The children were getting antsy and I was losing my patience.  I silently pleaded for God to help. I quieted my mind and listened as God showed me if I bought two pieces and put them together I could make the piece Robby wanted.

God told me great and mighty things about plumbing fixtures that I didn’t know. When you’re feeling frustrated, confused or stressed, listen for God to tell you how to handle the situation.

Published by:

The Young Theologian

I am 16 and I love theology and apologetics. I learn a lot from my dad who is pastor, but I also learn a lot from God's Word. I am a musician and singer who praises God constantly. I love to get Godly advice and give Godly advice.

Categories Bits of WisdomLeave a comment

Leave a Reply

