Dry Bones

Ezekiel 37 tells the story about God bringing old dry bones back to life. Sometimes I feel like I have old dry bones that need some new life breathed into them. I can even think of a few people I know who need some new life breathed into them. So how does this prophetic incident that happened so long ago pertain to my life?

I imagine a mangled pile of old bones. Verse two says, “they were very dry.” The bones obviously had been down in that valley for quite some time. I suspect that there might have been a few leg bones mixed in with some arm bones. Maybe even bones from different people lying right next to each other. This image reminds me of a 1,000 piece puzzle still in the box. A daunting task just thinking of how to begin sorting the pieces. But, this was not problem for God. He matched those bones up in no time.

After all the hard work of putting that 1,000 piece puzzle together, some people like to put a sealant on the puzzle so it doesn’t fall apart. This is what God did when He  added sinew and flesh creating new bodies. Some people take that puzzle art one step further by putting it in a frame and hanging it on the wall for all to admire. This is just what God did when he breathed life into the old dried bones he created into “an exceedingly great army.”

I’m not a huge puzzle fan. I like the ones with 25 pieces or less. I don’t have much hope of putting a large puzzle together. Just thinking about putting a large puzzle together reminds me of life without Jesus–NO HOPE. But Jesus takes the old dried up parts of our lives and puts them back together. He then clothes us in righteousness as we become new creations.

Therefore if anyone is in Christ, he is a new creature; the old things
passed away; behold, new things have come. 2nd Cor 5:17, NASB

I have HOPE that Jesus will take the mixed up pieces of my life and put them together as beautiful work of art worthy of admiration. May your life resemble a completed puzzle sealed and framed as an example of God’s amazing work.

Published by:

The Young Theologian

I am 17 and I love theology, writing, and apologetics. I learn a lot from my dad who is pastor, but I also learn a lot from God's Word. I am a musician and singer who praises God constantly. I love to get Godly advice and give Godly advice. I also use my God-given talent for writing to encourage others, believers or not.

Categories Bits of WisdomLeave a comment

Leave a Reply

