Chocolate Oatmeal Muffins

Feeding a house full of children can get quite expensive these days. And, according to the news it will only get more expensive because of the drought on the left coast. Although cereal and Pop Tarts are a quick and easy meal, they are not only expensive on a regular basis but not all that nutritious no matter what the packaging says. They are loaded with sugar and artificial colors and flavors. So, I have made it my mission to save money at breakfast time and provide a nutritious meal to awaken my children’s minds for the school day. I have discovered that if I add chocolate to something my children will eat it. They forget that I am prone to adding something healthy to the mix.

The original Oatmeal Muffin Recipe came from one of my many cookbooks–More Fresco Fixins from St. Mary’s Beaver Creek. Just like most of the recipes I come across I’ve doctored this one up to reduce sugar, add some added nutrition, and make it more kid appealing. One batch usually makes about 12 muffins. However, I had about 1 cup leftover oatmeal from the day before that I added to the mix. I needed a little bit of water to make it muffin batter consistency with the addition of cooked oatmeal. This expanded the meal to 18 muffins. My children devoured this in one meal. Hope yours enjoy it too.

Chocolate Oatmeal Muffins

1/2 cup whole wheat flour                                1/2 cup all purpose flour                          2 Tbl coco powder                                                  1 cup uncooked oatmeal                                    1 Tbl baking powder                                  1/2 tsp salt                                                          1/4 cup sugar                                                       1/4 cup unsweetened applesauce            1 egg, beaten                                                          1 tsp vanilla extract                                            1 cup  milk                                                    1 good handful chocolate chips

Sift together flours, baking powder, salt, coco powder, and sugar. Stir in oatmeal. Combine milk, egg, applesauce, and vanilla in a small bowl. Add to dry ingredients mix well. Stir in chocolate chips. Bake at 425 degrees for 15 minutes.

I’ve been known to throw in some shredded carrots or squash to these muffins too. My blessings never seem to notice the added ingredients. The chocolate hides the best part. If you are concerned about creating chocoholics don’t worry. Research says that a little chocolate a day is good for your health.

Enjoy!

Published by:

The Young Theologian

I am 17 and I love theology, writing, and apologetics. I learn a lot from my dad who is pastor, but I also learn a lot from God's Word. I am a musician and singer who praises God constantly. I love to get Godly advice and give Godly advice. I also use my God-given talent for writing to encourage others, believers or not.

Categories Recipes, UncategorizedLeave a comment

Leave a Reply

