Hamburger Stroganoff

I have a collection of church cookbooks. My favorite is called the Bread of Life put together by the ladies of Providence Baptist Church in Macedonia, SC. I use this cookbook so often it fell apart a couple of years ago. I had to rebind it. This is my go to cookbook for tried and true recipes. This book has many notes in the margins. I have this tendency to take a recipe and redo it to suit my tastes. Yesterday I wanted something quick and easy yet hearty and comforting for dinner. I chose an old standby–Hamburger Stroganoff. This is one of those recipes that have so many notes my daughter insisted I rewrite the recipe on a card so she can figure out my changes. I am proud to say this is one of the few dishes she has learned to make well. I am enjoying have a teenager in the house. I love to cook and am doing my best to teach her. She loves to bake anything chocolate. However, I’ve explained to her that although the way to a man’s heart is through his stomach the way to keep him is to feed him healthy, hearty meals. Unfortunately, she wasn’t feeling well yesterday (this crazy weather has her sinuses bothering her) so I did the honors of cooking this meal.

Hamburger Stroganoff

2 lb ground venison (or meat of your choice)

2 cloves garlic, minced

1 medium onion, chopped

1 Tbl Italian Seasoning

1 tsp salt

1/4 tsp pepper

1 can cream of mushroom soup

1 can cream of chicken soup

1 can sliced mushrooms, drained

1 cup sour cream

1/2 cup parmesan cheese

Brown meat with onions, garlic & seasonings. Drain any liquids. Add soups and mushrooms. Simmer 10 minutes. Stir in sour cream and parmesan cheese. Heat through. Serve over egg noodles. If you are on a low carb diet, serve over spaghetti squash.

Simple and filling. I paired this main dish with green beans and cranberry sauce (this stuff is not just for Thanksgiving and Christmas).

Hope ya’ll enjoy this dish as much as my family does. Well, most of them. This is not one my selective eaters devour. But, one they will eventually learn to eat. I am not a short order cook.

Published by:

The Young Theologian

I am 17 and I love theology, writing, and apologetics. I learn a lot from my dad who is pastor, but I also learn a lot from God's Word. I am a musician and singer who praises God constantly. I love to get Godly advice and give Godly advice. I also use my God-given talent for writing to encourage others, believers or not.

Categories RecipesLeave a comment

Leave a Reply

