Oriental Night

Today was our home school co-op day. A day I never feel like coming home to cook a big meal. I usually plan for either a crock pot meal or clean-out-the-fridge night. Today I am making Peking Venison over rice with Oriental Green Beans. This a simple yet hearty meal. Makes enough to serve a large family. I think the original Peking recipe was for pork chops. I do believe I got this from Weight Watchers years ago. But, can’t quiet remember. These days I make this meal with venison. You could use stew meat or even chicken breast cut into cubes. We process our own venison and I had a pack of thinly sliced meat I’d normally use for cubed steak. It works well with this recipe. Today I also added some chopped onion and red and green sweet peppers to the pot.

Peking Venison, Chicken, or Pork

2 lbs meat cut into cubes

¼ c brown sugar

1 tsp ground ginger

1/3 c light soy sauce

¼ c ketchup

1-2 cloves minced garlic or 1 tsp garlic powder

salt and pepper to taste

Trim excess fat from meat and cut into 1” cubes.  Place in crockpot.  Combine remaining ingredients and pour over meat.  Cook on low 4-6 hours or until tender.   Serve over rice.

I pair this main dish with a side of Oriental Green beans. A simple yet tasty vegetable side dish for an oriental style meal. I use my home canned green beans for this recipe.  Unless of course I’ve been picking green beans. Fresh definitely tastes better, but the canned or frozen varieties are a bit easier for a quick and uncomplicated meal.

Oriental Green Beans

1 ½ lb fresh green beans, trimmed (frozen or canned works well too)

3 Tbl soy sauce

2 Tbl sesame or olive oil

1 tsp sugar

6 cloves minced garlic

  1. In a large pot of boiling water cook green beans until just tender.  (Fresh beans take longer than frozen.  If you use canned beans you don’t have to cook them in boiling water.  Just go to the next step.)
  2. Combine soy sauce, oil and sugar in a small bowl.  Set aside
  3. Drain beans.  Set aside.
  4. Coat  wok or large skillet with oil.  Sauté garlic over medium heat stirring constantly until softened (about 30 seconds).  Add green beans.  Cook stirring constantly until well coated (about 2 minutes). Add soy sauce mixture.  Continue to stir and turn beans until most of the liquid is absorbed and beans are thoroughly heated.

I was a bit adventurous tonight and attempted stir-fry rice. Robby is better at this than I am, but I had some left over rice. I got some peas and carrots out of the freezer. I chopped a small onion, minced a garlic clove. First, I sautéd the onion and garlic in olive oil (no sesame oil in the house), then I added the cooked and drained peas and shredded carrots. Once veggies were tender I pushed them to the side, cracked the egg in the pan and scrambled using my spatula. Once scrambled I mixed the veggies in with the eggs and threw the left over rice in the skillet. I’ll added a tablespoon or two of soy sauce and stirred until heated through. Simple!

Next time you are craving oriental food give this meal a try. I think you’ll like it. I tried to add a pic, but it failed. If anyone could help me add pics, I’ll put one of the next recipe.

Published by:

The Young Theologian

I am 17 and I love theology, writing, and apologetics. I learn a lot from my dad who is pastor, but I also learn a lot from God's Word. I am a musician and singer who praises God constantly. I love to get Godly advice and give Godly advice. I also use my God-given talent for writing to encourage others, believers or not.

Categories RecipesLeave a comment

Leave a Reply

