Change Happens

When I came to understand the saving grace of Christ’s crucifixion, I was fearful that my heart was so hard with hate and hurt that it could never become soft with love and peace. But, I am pleased to say that as I’ve continued to walk in the Light of His Word my life has changed for the better.

Jesus Cleans the Heart

“Though your sins are as scarlet, they will be as white as snow; though they are red like crimson, they will be like wool.” Is 1:18

Some people think God could never forgive their sin. But, that is not true. First off, sin is sin. It doesn’t matter if you’ve murdered someone or just told a lie. They are both sin–punishable by death. In the old testament, the priests sacrificed animals using the shed blood as an atonement for sin. An animal had do die. Praise the Lord, Jesus willingly shed His blood on the cross as the atonement for our sin. His scarlet red blood washes away our sins no matter how unforgivable we may think they are. 

“Therefore we have been buried with Him through baptism into death, so that as Christ was raised from the dead through the glory of the Father, so we too might walk in newness of life.” Rom 6:4

So you’ve sinned. We all have (Romans 3:23). The good news is that because Jesus died and rose again we can walk a new way. As a Christian we want to live life differently. We feel guilty when we sin because we now have Christ in our hearts and He doesn’t like sin.

“Therefore if any man be in Christ, he is a new creature: old things are passed away; behold, all things are become new.” 2 Cor 5:17

Praise the Lord, our lives will change because we have a relationship with Jesus Christ. We will no long let those unsavory words slip past our lips, tell little white lies, walk around with hate and discontent in our hearts. You may still be struggling with some of your past sins. Never fear, not everyone will change overnight.

Think of yourself as a cucumber wanting to become a pickle. Someone must choose you to become a pickle. Then you must sit in a brine for days on in waiting for the miracle to happen. Then one day you realize you have changed into a pickle. You can never go back to being a cucumber. You are forever changed. Praise the Lord I am not the person I was before salvation.

“God is light, and in Him there is no darkness at all.”  I John 1:5

My life didn’t change overnight.  However, the biggest difference was when I sinned I felt guilty.  Before I was saved I didn’t feel guilty about the foul words coming out of my mouth, the little white lies I would tell, the murderous thoughts of hate in my heart, and a multitude of other sin.  But when Christ shown his light on my sin/ my darkness, I felt guilty.  I knew something was different about my life from that point on.  Those things didn’t immediately change, but over the past 20+ years God has been shaping and molding me into the new person I am today.  God used His word and the gentle encouragement from other seasoned Christians (like my husband) to show me the changes I had to make in my life.

 “The one who does not love does not know God, for God is love.” 1 John 4:8

Before Jesus I was bitter, full of hate and anger. However, when I accepted Jesus Christ into my heart, love came into that dark cavern of hate.  The longer I walked on the road of adventure getting to know God personally the more love and less hate I had in my heart.  I began to change.  I began to surrender all my hurt and pain to God so He could heal my wounded soul.  I did this by choosing to focus on God’s word instead of the pain of my past. Not only that, but the more I shared with others about what God’s love was doing in my life, the less I focused on my pain.  Soon I began to realize that I no longer harbored hate in my heart.

The best part about my new life is that God doesn’t hold any of my past sins against me.  Is. 65:7 tells me that the former things will not be remembered or come to mind.  Even the sin of hate a form of murder has been washed by the Blood of Christ.  When we accept Christ as our Lord and Savior, our lives change.  We are children of the living God, forgiven of our sin and granted eternal life.  It is through the adventure of getting to know God personally—seeking to live our lives more like Him, that change occurs.  We become new creatures in Christ. I wanted to know Jesus Christ.  I read about Him.  I talked to Him.  I listened to Him. And I started to change. How about you?

I challenge you to begin the adventure of knowing God personally

Determine to know God

“For Ezra had set his heart to study the law of the LORD and to practice it, and to teach His statutes and ordinances in Israel.” Ezra 7:10

Seek God and Change your ways.

“My people who are called by My name humble themselves and pray and seek My face and turn from their wicked ways, then I will hear from heaven, will forgive their sin and will heal their land.” 2 Chron 7:14

Published by:

The Young Theologian

I am 17 and I love theology, writing, and apologetics. I learn a lot from my dad who is pastor, but I also learn a lot from God's Word. I am a musician and singer who praises God constantly. I love to get Godly advice and give Godly advice. I also use my God-given talent for writing to encourage others, believers or not.

Categories UncategorizedLeave a comment

Leave a Reply

