Jesus is Our Light

We went to the Gaither Christmas Homecoming Concert Friday night with a few other couples. We had a blast. When we walked in a greeter handed each of us a tiny flashlight. Being with other 40+ women, we determined the little flashlights were to light our way if we needed to use the potty while the lights were out. After all the average age of Gaither Fans are…well let’s just say without Loreal they might just all be turning grey if not fully there. The men in our group didn’t find the humor in our conclusion. We sure got a good laugh when Bill announced that the lights were to make “stars” when the lights went out. They made beautiful stars I might add.

But, as I listened to the music and watched the stars glisten in the darkness, God reminded me that he is our light and our salvation.

The Lord is my light and my salvation;

Whom shall I fear?

The Lord is the strength of my life;

Of whom shall I be afraid? Ps 27:1

 

What is salvation? Salvation is when we believe that Jesus died on the cross to cleans us of our sin and we accept His gift of forgiveness.  First we need to realize that we have all sinned and fall short of the glory of God (Rom 3:23). Living in sin is the same as living in darkness. Therefore, when we meet Jesus it is like turning on the lights.

 

Once we’ve met Jesus and asked Him to be a part of our lives, we need to get to know Him. The best way to do this is to read the Bible. His Word sheds light on our lives. The more we read and study God’s Word the brighter the light gets. It’s as if we’ve turned a flood light on our road of life.

 

Your word is a lamp to my feet and a light to my path. Ps 119:105

Our lives before salvation are a direct road to sure and certain death and eternity in the pits of hell. That is a harsh but true statement.  But, salvation  brings eternal life in the glory of Heaven.  Jesus spoke very plainly about this when he said,

“whoever believes in Him should not perish but have eternal life. For God so loved the world that He gave His only begotten Son, that whoever believes in Him should not perish but have everlasting life. For God did not send His Son into the world to condemn the world, but that the world through Him might be saved. He who believes in Him is not condemned; but he who does not believe is condemned already, because he has not believed in the name of the only begotten Son of God.” John 3:15-18

 

Even King David understood the saving nature of God’s infinite mercy.

 

For You have delivered my soul from death.

Have You not kept my feet from falling,

That I may walk before God

In the light of the living? Ps 56:13

We are entering the Christmas season. A time to celebrate the birth of our Savior, Jesus Christ. Many of you will probably put up a tree with lights and presents underneath. You’ll spent time with family and friends. Some of you might even read the Nativity story. But, I’d venture to say that most people in our world today don’t give much thought to the reason we celebrate Christmas. They are too involved in the commotion of the season.  

Think about it. If Jesus had not come to the world as a tiny little baby, He would not have grown into the man who hung on the cross for our salvation. I challenge you today to think about Jesus as the Light of the World. Is He your light? If not, please listen to Him as He whispers “come to me” in your ear. Maybe you asked Jesus to be a part of your life, but have never developed a friendship with Him. Please pick up your Bible and begin reading. This is the best way to get to know Jesus. If you feel His light shining brightly on your life daily, share that light with others.

Over the next few posts I want to share how God’s light can and will change your life for the better. He has changed mine and continues to illuminate my path so I’m going in the right direction.

Published by:

The Young Theologian

I am 17 and I love theology, writing, and apologetics. I learn a lot from my dad who is pastor, but I also learn a lot from God's Word. I am a musician and singer who praises God constantly. I love to get Godly advice and give Godly advice. I also use my God-given talent for writing to encourage others, believers or not.

Categories Uncategorized1 Comment

One thought on “Jesus is Our Light”

  1. Enjoyed the words of light! So glad you are better….keep pressing forward…your light is drawing a crowd!!! Xoxo faye

    Please note: message attached

Leave a Reply

