Holiday Treats: Friend or Foe?

I’ve completed my fast just in time for the holidays. Whooo! I thought I’d be jumping for joy at the idea of eating all those yummy desserts and snacks that are sure to appear at every gathering between now and Valentine’s Day. I love chocolate. It is my friend. Well, a friend who sticks around the middle a little too long at times. I find myself hesitant to indulge in the oooh so gooy goodness of holiday treats.

I’ve just spent the last six weeks on a cleansing fast. I’ve literally been washing my insides of built up gunk. I look forward to getting my cholesterol results this week. I bet they’re real low. Do I really want to dirty up my gas tank again?

I was reading about Naaman this morning. This guy had leprosy. It’s a terrible, chronic skin disease. The guy wanted relief. A servant girl told him Elisha could heal him so off he went to find the prophet. He was greatly disappointed that Elisha didn’t even great him. Furthermore, the instructions Elisha gave him were too simple–just wash in the Jordan seven times. It worked! Washing is cleansing. Sick people waited by the Pool of Bethesda to wash when the Angel stirred the water (John 5:3-4). I fasted for the purpose of cleansing and now I’m feeling great. Do I want to ruin it over a piece of pie?

Jesus healed the sick and told them He forgave their sin. Gluttony is a sin. That would mean binging on sweets is a sin. I’ve learned that starchy food just turn to sugar in our bodies so binging on chips would be a sin too. Not only is it a sin, too much sugar at one time reeks havoc on our endocrine systems. It can even reduce our immunity setting us up for a dreaded cold or worse–the flu. I like feeling healthy.

The real issue here isn’t whether to have that pie or not. I’ve learned ways to create scrumptious desserts sweetened with God’s low carb sugar–stevia. I’ve gotten the hang of reducing my carbs. I don’t think I could ever do the Atkins diet. I love bread way too much. I’m satisfied with my lower carb bread solutions. My biggest problem is I don’t want to hurt someone’s feelings by not eating their prized dish either a sweet treat,  carb crazy casserole, or fancy dip served only with crackers. I’ve also been dairy free for the past six weeks. Cheese makes a casserole go much further. But, it can also cause unpleasant intestinal distress too. That is something I don’t want for myself or those around me.

So. What’s a girl to do? I think I will politely say, “no thank you.” We had our home school Thanksgiving Day party this past Thursday. Everybody enjoyed pizza, chips, cupcakes, cookies, and candy. I went prepared with my low carb bread, sliced turkey, a bag of veggies, and a tall glass of water. I did not feel deprived. I was surrounded by encouraging women so I didn’t feel guilty that I offended someone either. But, I did it! I know I can do it again even at family events. I’ve also learned over the past six weeks that I can go out to eat and choose low carb, sugar-free meals. I don’t have to have the bread with my meal.

I’ve washed my body with a cleansing fast. God is healing me. I accept that healing and strive to stay clean. I think I will continue to greatly limit my sugar, carbs and dairy intake. I’ve decided the holiday treats are my foe today. Maybe one day I can just eat one, but not this year. Please don’t get your feeling hurt if I don’t eat your prized dish this holiday season. I am taking care of me. I won’t be offended if you don’t try my sugar-free low carb dessert, but it will be your loss.

Have a wonderful Thanksgiving.

Published by:

The Young Theologian

I am 17 and I love theology, writing, and apologetics. I learn a lot from my dad who is pastor, but I also learn a lot from God's Word. I am a musician and singer who praises God constantly. I love to get Godly advice and give Godly advice. I also use my God-given talent for writing to encourage others, believers or not.

Categories Uncategorized1 Comment

One thought on “Holiday Treats: Friend or Foe?”

Leave a Reply

