Renewed Health and Energy

O Lord my God, I cried out to you for help, and you restored my health. Psalm 30:2

Some days I feel like I’ve been on a very long road trip trying to get to and maintain ultimate health for myself and my family. This year I’ve made some significant stops along the road. After years of suffering from migraine headaches and various neurological symptoms I discovered I had a Chiari malformation. That was enlightening. Finally, I had a cause for my sluggish engine. The remedy we chose was brain surgery. It’s been 3 1/2 months since the surgery and my engine is running much smoother than it has in years. Thank you Lord, for providing a competent surgeon for this condition.

Not long before the scheduled surgery, God began showing me that my body was clogged with gunk. Kinda like how ethanol gas gunks up our automobiles. I had years of pollutants and unhealthy eating contributing to my lack of energy and overall depressed feeling. Specifically, God made it clear I was suffering from an overabundance of candida–yeast.

I tried taking the easy road of prescription meds, but that wasn’t working. God reminded me that I have the Bible Cure books by Dr. Don Colbert on my bookshelf. So, I began researching how to get the yeast under control. The surgery itself was a big stop sign signaling me to stop for a rest. I literally had to spend some time at the rest area to recovery. That was the time needed to read up on the candida issue.

With guidance from my spiritual adviser and leader, Robby. I embarked on a cleansing fast five weeks ago. The first three weeks were very strict: no dairy, no fruit, no sugar of any kind (sweeten with stevia only), no wheat or gluten products, no yeast products, no fried foods, no corn, no potatoes even the sweet one, no caffeine, and no chocolate. After three weeks I could add apples and berries, sweet potatoes, Splenda for sweetening, limited amounts of wheat and oatmeal, and unsweetened chocolate (blah!). I have one week left and I am ready to add some of these no-no items back into my diet.

Lord, your discipline is good, for it leads to life and health. You have restored my health and allowed me to live. Isaiah 38:16.

This journey down the fasting road had been a bit bumpy at times. I’ve encountered a few sharp curves, but I have not been deprived. I found that I could even go out to eat and enjoy my meal. I’ve scoured some cook books, and the internet for recipes that I could enjoy with my family. I made a sugar free, gluten free apple pie this weekend. It was surprisingly delicious. I even got bold enough to try making homemade sugar free catsup. That wasn’t bad either. Maybe it’s just because I’ve not had sugar for five weeks, but I finally found a condiment I could make that tastes good. I didn’t do so hot on my first try at mayonnaise. I will try that again. I even found a good salad dressing recipe and a flax seed bread that fits the plan.

This has been a rewarding five weeks. Some friends commented that I have a glow to my cheeks that hasn’t been there for a long time. I’ve lost five pounds. Wouldn’t mind loosing another five, but at least I can fit into my size 8 jeans again. I have so much energy I find myself doing too much. I still have some neck and head pain around my surgery site. This is too be expected. I’m able to teach my children without laying down through most of the day. God got my attention on some spiritual issues I need to address (that’s another blog). And, I’m even smiling more.

The most informative book I’ve come across besides the Bible while praying about how to maintain my renewed health is Trim Healthy Momma by Serene Allison and Pearl Barret. The book reads like a nutrition course. I’m getting strong arms just lugging this text book around. I’m learning that God created all food for our enjoyment and health. Even chocolate! I plan to try their Cake in a Mug recipe this week. There are some ingredients I’ve never heard of and will have to find them. Fortunately, they give some websites to order those healthy ingredients. I like that this isn’t a diet plan. It is a lesson in eating healthy for myself and my family. Sure they give a plan to shed some extra pounds, but it’s mostly about a lifetime approach to eating the way God planned.

I look forward to implementing this Trim Healthy Momma meal planning. I’ve already tried a few recipes and believe they will be winners with my family. At least everyone except my picky eaters. Fortunately, I did see a recipe for mac-n-cheese. This will put smiles on most faces. I’m most grateful that I once again have the energy and the desire to get in the kitchen to create healthy meals and snacks for my family.

Published by:

The Young Theologian

I am 17 and I love theology, writing, and apologetics. I learn a lot from my dad who is pastor, but I also learn a lot from God's Word. I am a musician and singer who praises God constantly. I love to get Godly advice and give Godly advice. I also use my God-given talent for writing to encourage others, believers or not.

Categories Road to Better Health2 Comments

2 thoughts on “Renewed Health and Energy”

  1. Enjoyed reading this Barbara! I want to encourage you to continue seeking God in your/your family’s food choices. It’s about some discipine and weeding through a lot of unhealthy items out there, but I do believe God honors you in the trying process. Reminder not to be too hard on yourself when goal is not met! I am thankful you are sharing your growth with those you care about…and minister to…like me! Our bodies are temples of God’s Holy Spirit. Each of us is responsible for caring for our temple/body and it’s even more of a blessing to share the journey with others. Blessings to you and your dear family! In Christ, Anne-Marie

Leave a Reply

