Blessings

We took a drive along the Blue Ridge Parkway a couple of weeks ago. The vibrant colors just popped off God’s canvas. Every day we can look around nature and be blessed by God’s creation. But, God wants to bless us personally. You might how do I get some of these blessings?

Jesus said, “But even more blessed are all who hear the word of God and put it into practice.” (Luke 11:28, NLT)

That’s a loaded statement. But, never fear God knew we’d need some very clear guidance on this one. So while giving the sermon on the mount He said,

 “Then the King will say to those on his right, ‘Come, you who are blessed by my Father, inherit the Kingdom prepared for you from the creation of the world. For I was hungry, and you fed me. I was thirsty, and you gave me a drink. I was a stranger, and you invited me into your home. I was naked, and you gave me clothing. I was sick, and you cared for me. I was in prison, and you visited me.’
“Then these righteous ones will reply, ‘Lord, when did we ever see you hungry and feed you? Or thirsty and give you something to drink? Or a stranger and show you hospitality? Or naked and give you clothing? When did we ever see you sick or in prison and visit you?’
“And the King will say, ‘I tell you the truth, when you did it to one of the least of these my brothers and sisters, you were doing it to me!’ (Matt 25: 34-40, NKJV)

As you know, Robby has been in a great deal of pain lately. Therefore, he has not felt well enough to go hunting. For those of you who don’t know, we are not in the habit of buying meat. We believe God had guided us to eat off the land as much as possible providing the healthiest choices of meat and produce for our family. We eat venison, wild hog, chicken from our yard, an occasional beaver if it gets hung up in a trap, and if we are desperate we’ve butchered a goat. We are running out of red meat. Well, we were until this week.

God sent a few angles our way in the form of hunters. We were blessed with two deer. Not only were we blessed. The hunters were blessed. They shot several deer on two different days. They had more than enough to put up themselves and knew we were in need. The best blessing this young man could get came in the form of a large 9 point buck. I do believe God had that beast walk right out in front of the young man so he could get his trophy. This is the first season this gentleman has shot any deer. The first day he shot more than one, he skinned his extra and put it in our cooler. Then today he shot another two. One for him and one for us. What a blessing for both families.

I was so overwhelmed by God’s goodness yesterday as I helped skin the second deer for our freezer in less than three days. God tells us He will provide our needs. “Therefore, do not worry, saying, ‘What shall we eat?’ or ‘What shall we drink?’ or ‘What shall we wear?’ For after all these things the Gentiles seek. For your heavenly Father knows that you need all these things.”(Matt 6:31-32, NKJV)  Yes, He knows and He has provided. Christi shot her second deer this season last night. It normally takes 4-6 deer to feed our family throughout the year. We are more than half way there.

I believe God remembered all the times we helped others in their time of need, and rewarded us for taking care of His children during our times of abundance. Many years ago a wonderful Christian women told me that there are times for giving and times for taking. At that time in my life, I had little money for food. She blessed me and when I tried to repay her, all she asked was that when I had an abundance to “pay it forward” as the saying goes. I’ve never forgotten her generosity and when I’ve had extra I’ve given to those in need.

If you want God’s blessing in life, spend some time in His Word. Learn how to live like Christ. Exercise your faith in how you treat others. Don’t forget to accept the good deed others want to share with you; they are your blessings from God.

Published by:

The Young Theologian

I am 17 and I love theology, writing, and apologetics. I learn a lot from my dad who is pastor, but I also learn a lot from God's Word. I am a musician and singer who praises God constantly. I love to get Godly advice and give Godly advice. I also use my God-given talent for writing to encourage others, believers or not.

Categories Uncategorized2 Comments

2 thoughts on “Blessings”

  1. To Smith family: What blessings you, Robby and family have been receiving Barbara! Good hunting Christi! Sorry to hear you have still had pain Robby. Also sorry to hear doctors aren’t able to do more…you and your family are the models folks will be looking to. Paving the way, in Christ isn’t easy at all, but thankfully you are “In Christ” in the process! Blessings on you all. Andrei and Anna send their hellos to all of your kids! They are now being trained on the “Tech Team” at Brookwood Church to help with particular services each month and are enjoying it. We will be driving up to Charlottesville, VA to be with RIchard’s mom, step-dad John and his sister Amy’s family for Thanksgiving holiday. I also will see my cousin Darleen, Aunt and Uncle (my dad’s brother). Darleen, their daughter, who teaches 6th grade science, just had her 1st surgery for recently discovered breast cancer and is now recovering. We recently sent her some flowers. So many needs in our world to continue to pray about…now folks in the Philipines -typhoon….so sad for them and more signs of the times we are in. Thank you so much for sharing your family news!  Have a great Thanksgiving! Love and prayers, Anne-Marie and family

    ________________________________

    1. Ann Marie:

      Sounds like you will have a wonderful time at Thanksgiving. We will be staying home this year. We think the drive to Charleston and the long day of standing and sitting will just be too painful for both of us. I’ll miss the family time. But I look forward to creating my own Thanksgiving meal. Since I’ve been on this cleansing fast I was not looking forward to the sugar and fat laden food choices at the family event. We can enjoy a healthier meal and since my father has dialysis that morning we can enjoy Thanksgiving diner with him that evening.

      I have a bit of good news. I found a neurologist who is knowledgeable about Chiari. The neurosurgeon insisted that we find one close to us as he would not be able to follow our continued care throughout the long recovery process. The neurosurgeon’s office will refer us and get appointments set up. With God’s grace we can be seen before the end of the year. I’m doing well right now but Robby is in definite need of follow-up care. I pray this doctor truly knows how to treat the pain associated with Chiari.

      God Bless
      Barbara

Leave a Reply

