Yield Sign

I said last week that I thought I fell into a sink hole regarding juice fasting. I know now that I just took a wrong turn. Yes, I prayed. Yes, I read some books along the way. I had a plan and a goal in mind. So what went wrong?  During my quiet time, God pointed out that I neglected the yield sign He puts in front of every married women.

Wives, be under the authority of your husbands, as of the Lord. 
The husband is the head of the wife, as Christ is the head of
the church. (Eph 5:22-23, ICB)

God has given me a husband who not only knows his Bible, but lives by it. Robby has fasted many times and understands what God’s word says about it. I just never stopped to think that Robby might have some wisdom in this area. God’s word tells me I need to submit to Robby’s authority as my husband. God also has some instruction for husbands

Husbands, love your wives, just as Christ also loved the church and gave Himself for her, that He might sanctify and cleanse her with the washing of water by the word. (Eph 5: 25-26, NKJV)

Do you see what this says? By submitting to Robby’s authority, I am being sanctified and cleansed. That is exactly what I hope to accomplish by fasting regardless of the fasting method. I’ve been using the word “detox.” Duh–that’s just a fancy word for “cleansed.” Spiritually I want God to change my thought process by “bringing every thought into captivity to the obedience of Christ” (2 Cor 10:5). Cleaning out my stinking thinking. Picking up the trash off the side of the road that clogs my mind. Physically, I’ve had a problem with yeast gone amuck in my system. I’m in need of a physical touch from God to clean out the junk that acts like water in my gas tank.

This is so enlightening. With an attitude of submission, I can be cleaned out spiritually and physically. Therefore, I think it is safe to conclude that when I do NOT have an attitude of humble submissiveness to my husband I can expect to remain dirty. My thoughts will continue to be negative and my physical body will continue to suffer from the effects of an unbalanced system.

James 5:16 promises that if we confess our sins to each other and pray for each other we will be healed. So, with my spiritual GPS screaming “redirect,” I humbled myself before Robby and asked not only for forgiveness, but for prayer and guidance. After some discussion, he concluded that if my physical goal is primarily to eradicate the overactive population of yeast in my gut I should follow the plan outlined in The Bible Cure for Candida and Yeast Infections by Dr. Don Colbert.

This fast is harder than a juice fast. At least with a juice fast I can have fruit for my sweets. I have taken on the challenge of NO SWEETS, LIMITED CARBS,  NO DAIRY, NO COFFEE, NO BLACK TEA. I am so glad I can ate least steep me a hot cup of green/herbal tea sweetened with stevia. I was warned that the third day is the hardest. You got that right. After a lunch of veggie soup and oat flat bread, I crashed on the couch. I was exhausted. I can feel the effects of the detox. But I have hope because my God promises

“I will restore health to you and heal you of your wounds” (Jer 30:17 NKJV)

Published by:

The Young Theologian

I am 17 and I love theology, writing, and apologetics. I learn a lot from my dad who is pastor, but I also learn a lot from God's Word. I am a musician and singer who praises God constantly. I love to get Godly advice and give Godly advice. I also use my God-given talent for writing to encourage others, believers or not.

Categories Road to Better HealthLeave a comment

Leave a Reply

