Juicing

I’m still making my way down the highway of life. I spent about 3/4 of my life plodding along life’s highway struggling with headaches, a host of other bodily aches and pains, and depression. If it wasn’t for my dear husband, Robby, I would probably still be stumbling along life’s road. He insisted I have test done to find the source of my problem. Those test showed I had a Chiari Malformation. I took my first step along the path to better health 10 weeks ago when I had surgery to correct this disorder.

God began speaking to my heart just before surgery about juice fasting. I certainly didn’t think I could or should be doing any sort of fasting right after surgery, so I politely told God, “not now, maybe later.” I still did a good bit of reading up on the topic. Turns out juice fasting is good for the soul and the body. It seemed that no matter how fast or slow I was going along life’s path, I kept seeing road signs advertising juice fasting. Last weekend, I threw my hands up and said, “OK, God, I’ll try one meal a day.”

God patted me on the back and said, “If that’s all you can give, I’ll take it.”

After a week of juice fasting during lunch along with my other plans of decreasing the sugar and getting more exercise, I dropped five pounds. My energy level was so good, I did way to much activity Saturday and suffered the consequences of excruciating pain all day Sunday. I also felt so good I thought maybe I could indulge in a piece of candy and a small bite of apple cake. That was a big pot hole in the road. Or maybe I just fell into a crater.

I could barely get out of bed this morning. My energy level plummeted. I’ve had trouble focusing this morning, and I totally forgot that I was supposed to be juicing lunch. Leftover catfish stew was just too tempting. I’d call what happened a sink hole in the road, but sink holes just get bigger and bigger. I intend to get myself out of this pit and back on the road to better health.

I can start fresh. Joseph did. You know the one from the Old Testament that had a coat of many colors. That poor guy just kept getting pushed off the road. His brothers threw him down a well and sold him into slavery. Just when things seemed to be turning around for him, he got put in jail under false accusations. He thought help was on his way, but the helpers forgot about him. What I like about Joseph is he never gave up. He trusted in God and kept right on going. When someone or something ran him off the road he just got up, dusted himself off, asked God which way to go, and went the way God said.

If you’ve taken a wrong turn down your highway of life, please let Joseph be your example. Don’t let a little fender-bender keep you from your prize. My prize is good health, weight loss, and a renewed spiritual outlook on life. I’m not just doing this to cleanse my body of toxins, but I’m taking extra time each day to spend with God in His word and/or prayer. It seems to be taking longer for me to shed the unhealthy thoughts inside my head (2 Cor. 10:5) than the unwanted pounds around my waist, but I’ll keep at it. After all I ask God daily to “create in my a clean heart and renew a steadfast spirit in me.” (Ps 51:10)

My brethren, count it all joy when you fall into various trials,
knowing that the testing of your faith produces patience.
But let patience have its perfect work,

that you may be perfect and complete, lacking nothing.

James 1:2

Published by:

The Young Theologian

I am 17 and I love theology, writing, and apologetics. I learn a lot from my dad who is pastor, but I also learn a lot from God's Word. I am a musician and singer who praises God constantly. I love to get Godly advice and give Godly advice. I also use my God-given talent for writing to encourage others, believers or not.

Categories Road to Better HealthTags 1 Comment

One thought on “Juicing”

Leave a Reply

