Be Strong and Courageous

Do you ever feel like life is a battle? Every day we endure ups and downs that sometimes feels like a battle. Our battles are all different. Sometimes our battles are monumental and sometimes they seem pretty trivial. Compared to my friend whose daughter has leukemia, my struggle recovering from brain surgery seems insignificant. But,  I am challenged each day to either lay around and feel sorry for myself or get up and take the steps to get healthy once again and loose those 10 to 15 pounds I’ve gained over the past few months.

God told the Israelites over and over again to be “strong and courageous.” Do you suppose the Israelites just wanted to lay around and feel sorry for themselves because of all the nations they feared? God’s chosen people had to be reminded at every battle to be strong and courageous. I think I can benefit from that kind of encouragement.

Be of good courage,

and let us be strong for our people

 and for the cities of our God.

And may the Lord do what is good in His sight.

 II Sam 10:12

My family is my city. I need to be strong and courageous for them. This verse also tells me I need to let go and let God be in control of my healing and weight loss. Yes, it is tempting to lay around and do nothing, but this won’t do me or my family any good.

Courage: The ability to do something

 that you know is difficult or dangerous.

 (Merriam-Webster online dictionary)

This past week has felt like I was wounded in a battle. I saw Dr. Rosner, my surgeon, a week ago and proudly reported that I had stopped all medications except the pain meds. And, most of the time I had only been taking half a pill at a time. Then I woke up the day after we returned home in so much pain I needed a whole pain pill every 4 hours for a couple of days. I’ve even had to take the medication for restless legs this past week and have been so weak I couldn’t even pour from a full coffee pot. And because I laid around doing very little I gained another 4 pounds. If I continue to lay around feeling sorry for myself I am not being courageous.

Some trust in chariots, and some in horses,

but we will remember the name of the Lord our God.

They (the enemy) have bowed down and fallen;

but we have risen and stand upright.

Save, Lord!

May the King answer us when we call.

Psalm 20:7-9

King David had the good habit of giving God credit when he won a battle. My enemy today is self-pity. I can choose to trust in God or do nothing. David points out that when he trusts in the King the enemy falls and he stands tall. I like that image of standing tall. I choose to stand tall today. I’ve made it three days so far without sneaking any of my children’s candy.  I think I am finally use to the taste of my coffee with just one teaspoon of sugar per cup. Considering I’ve been tracking my Weight Watchers points  I’ve been asking myself “are the points worth it?” before eating anything, and I’ve gone for a walk the past three days. I awoke yesterday feeling pretty good. I think I over did it yesterday because I woke up in pain this morning. But, I am alive and well. Praise the Lord! The King is answering  my call.

 If you have bitter envy and self-seeking in your hearts…

this wisdom does not descend from above.

But the wisdom from above is first pure,

then peaceable, gentle, willing to yield,

full of mercy and good fruits.

James 3: 14, 17

The desire to lay around in self-pity eating junk and other foods not health promoting is self-seeking, therefore it is not of God. However, the ability and willingness to eat right and get moving so I can get strong enough to take care of my family is certainly not self-serving. This is being willing to yield my desires so I can enjoy the good fruits of improved health and better fitting jeans.

I know I need to take it slow with the exercise plan so I will. A 20 to 30 minute walk each day is a great start. I’ll also add some Pilates three days a week. With the help of my God and King I will continue to

  • cut back on sugar (no more sneaking candy)
  • eat smaller portions
  • drink more water
  • eat more fruits and veggies

Whatever your battle is today, may you seek God’s wisdom and walk in His path to victory.

 

Published by:

The Young Theologian

I am 17 and I love theology, writing, and apologetics. I learn a lot from my dad who is pastor, but I also learn a lot from God's Word. I am a musician and singer who praises God constantly. I love to get Godly advice and give Godly advice. I also use my God-given talent for writing to encourage others, believers or not.

Categories UncategorizedLeave a comment

Leave a Reply

